PDA

View Full Version : H1B Extension/Amendment or EAD

srini1976
03-16-2009, 10:25 PM
H1B Extension/Amendment or EAD with reduced no. of hours.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
I have been working in the US for the past 5 1/2 years and is a straight forward case with no status violations.

I am currently on H1-B for an american employer(products based) since 2 and half years and the same company sponsored for my green card. My previous employer is also an american company(big 4 consulting).

I would be completing 6 years on H1-B this October 2009.
I have a valid visa stamped until the same period(October 2009).

Starting Feb 2009 my employer has announced a 20% cut in base salary for all fulltime employees. And as such we are on a new work week(4 days / 32 hours / week).
My salary is well above the prevailing wage despite 20% cut.

Also I have an approved EAD valid until Oct 2010 and AP valid until Nov 2010. My I-140 is approved. I was already getting the proffered salary(as per Perm labor position). But because of the cut I get about 20% less now.

I sent out an email asking my company attorney if we need to file for an H-1B amendment and have not received a response. But today the attorney sent us the H1-B & H-4 extension applications(beyond 6 years) and in the applications I can see the no. of hours working as 32 and the period of dates as 10-xx-2009 to 10-xx-2012.

My spouse is on vacation and will return using valid H-4 visa in May 2009.

Questions:
(1) Is an H1-B amendment filing necessary/not necessary if I plan to move to EAD in May 2009?
(2) As H-1 & H4 extension related expenses are anyway paid by the employer, However - do I really need to extend H-1B & H-4 with reduced hours?
(3)As my wife returns in May. The very next day I will fill in a new I-9 form and move to EAD.
While working on EAD do I need to work for 40 hours? My current pay stub clearly shows the no. of hours/week as 32.

With this 32 hour work week: