PDA

View Full Version : Port EB3 (Software Engr) -> EB2 (Principal Software Engr) with the same company

hebron
06-14-2010, 03:22 PM
Hello All,
My EB3 PD is September 2004 with no end in sight. I was promoted to Principal Software Engineer back in 2007 and would like to know if I can port my EB3 to EB2. I have a Masters degree with 13 years of experience. I have been working with the current employer since 2002 (8 years experience).

I asked my attorney for his advice and he responded with the following: "If you have been promoted to a position for which the company normally requires a Masters degree (or a Bachelors and five years of experience), and we can prove it, then we can certainly do the labor certification again as an EB-2 and we can upgrade the I-140 to an EB-2. The key is being able to prove that it is truly the company’s requirement for the job. Otherwise, we all end up with potential problems for fraud and you may NEVER get the permanent residence."

My question is if anything goes wrong with the porting process, can I fall back to my current EB3 without any issues? Has anybody ported from EB3 to EB2 working with the same employer? If so, could you provide some insight into this?

Thanks.

gc28262
06-14-2010, 03:57 PM
Refer this:
Case Study: Upgrade from EB3 to EB2 (http://www.imminfo.com/News/Newsletter/2010-06/case_study_upgrade_from_eb3_to_eb2.html)

kumar1
06-14-2010, 04:03 PM
God bless Raj. I am not sure if every story ends like this particular one.
Refer this:
Case Study: Upgrade from EB3 to EB2 (http://www.imminfo.com/News/Newsletter/2010-06/case_study_upgrade_from_eb3_to_eb2.html)

hebron
06-14-2010, 04:09 PM
Refer this: