PDA

View Full Version : EB3 Processing Time

BimmerFAn
06-22-2010, 10:03 PM
Hi guys, I am trying to understand this whole process and was wondering if you could help me out.

I'm a CPA working for a Big4 in the US for h1-B. I have 2 years of experiences (1 with the same company). I am not from Europe. I have the following 2 questions:

1. What can I expect in terms of waiting for a GC if my employer were to file today? It's a huge firm and submits many GC sponsorship requests per year. I belieave 700 were submitted in 2009.

2. Would my CPA/Lvl 2 CFA Certification as well as my membership in professional organizations and performance bonuses (highlighting exceptional ability) bump me up to EB2 if EB3 is not current?

Thank you for your input.

greyhair
06-22-2010, 11:02 PM
I also work for Big4, but I work in IT. Wait time depends on your country of birth and the category of your application. If you are from India or China in Eb3, then you would be better off not applying because you will most likely retire before you get your green card.

It may be helpful to apply in Eb2. I am not sure if CFA Lvl 2 will qualify you for Eb2. But if you have Masters degree in your area of expertise then Eb2 should not be an issue. Performance bonus is not a measure of exceptional ability for Eb2.

You will have to provide more details or you will have to understand the process to estimating the time it will take for the approval. Given the size of the backlog, Eb2 is always better than Eb3. Ultimately, it depends on your employer and your job requirement.

BimmerFAn
06-22-2010, 11:10 PM
I don't have a Masters although most people I work with do. I work in Audit/Advisory. One must have at least 150 credits at US University to apply for the position. Most people get their Masters in order to satisfy this requirement. I double majored in Finance and Accounting and am now worried that I shot myself in the foot.

The job requirement states: