PDA

View Full Version : Port EB3 to EB2 - Need suggestions/advice please

hebron
08-10-2010, 10:55 AM
I am an EB3 applicant with PD of Sep 2004. I have an EAD but I haven't used it yet. I am still on H1-B.

I have 12 years of experience and a masters degree and given the hopeless EB3 backlog, I have been looking for other suitable employment opportunities (EB2) for the past few weeks.

I have a few questions for the IV members who have switched to new employers and have successfully ported EB3 to EB2:

1. Should I use my EAD and invoke AC21 to transfer to a new employer or should I ask them to file H1-B transfer.

2. How soon is it reasonable to ask the prospective employer to file EB2 labor? I do not want to blow up an opportunity being unreassonable.

In my mind, I am thinking about asking the employer to file for EB2 labor and use my EAD to start working. This is under the assumption that asking an employer to do H1-B transfer and also file EB2 labor might be too much to ask (expense wise) .

Any suggestions/ advice appreciated.

hebron
08-10-2010, 11:15 AM
Suggestions....anybody? ^^^^

my_gc_wait
08-10-2010, 12:20 PM
1. You can ask them for H1 transfer and AC21 portability of your existing EB3 GC Process.
2. You can also ask them for doing EB2 processing, some employers have policy that they will do it after 6-12 months but you should do it before joining so that they can analyze if position suits EB2 needs.

And both of the above should be done before joining a new employer because before joining you are in better bargaining position provided you rocked the interviews.

hebron
08-10-2010, 12:37 PM
1. You can ask them for H1 transfer and AC21 portability of your existing EB3 GC Process.
2. You can also ask them for doing EB2 processing, some employers have policy that they will do it after 6-12 months but you should do it before joining so that they can analyze if position suits EB2 needs.