PDA

View Full Version : Information Needed on switching from EB3 to EB2

sreekanth
09-13-2006, 06:38 PM
Friends,
I have a Master degree from India. When I started my GC process before 5 yrs I requested my lawyers to file under EB2 Category. They said that there was not much difference in the processing time between EB2 and EB3 and the chance of EB3 getting approved is higher than the EB2 category. They filed my case under EB3. (Of course they would not have expected the retrogression to kick in).
My PD is Dec-02.
With the way the things are going on for EB3 I think I might stand a better chance with EB2.
Please let me know what are the steps involved in moving my case from EB3 to EB2 and what are the implications on my PD?
Appreciate your input.

rbharol
09-13-2006, 06:45 PM
Friends,
I have a Master degree from India. When I started my GC process before 5 yrs I requested my lawyers to file under EB2 Category. They said that there was not much difference in the processing time between EB2 and EB3 and the chance of EB3 getting approved is higher than the EB2 category. They filed my case under EB3. (Of course they would not have expected the retrogression to kick in).
My PD is Dec-02.
With the way the things are going on for EB3 I think I might stand a better chance with EB2.
Please let me know what are the steps involved in moving my case from EB3 to EB2 and what are the implications on my PD?
Appreciate your input.

You can not Switch the case from one catagory to another.
You have to file a new case.

imcdude
09-13-2006, 08:44 PM
You CAN switch from EB3 to EB2.
How do I know? I did that sucessfully.

You have to file an amendment to your original certified I-140. Note that the original position mentioned in the Labor certification petition should be consistent with EB2.

kannan
09-13-2006, 09:20 PM
Mine is EB-2 to EB-3

If one has an approved I-140 in EB 2 from current employer, can another Employer capture this PD to file a new EB-3 in PERM

dan19