PDA

View Full Version : Approx. time for GC

HarishM
09-21-2006, 05:06 PM
Hello,

I'm Harish. I've finished my masters in usa and working on H1-B. I applied for GC this year. Right now at 1-140 filing stage. I think I-140 should be approved in a few months. After that how long should I wait to apply for I-485?
I want to change my employer. I believe you can do that 180 days after u file for I-485. So can any1 give me an approx time when I should be able to file I-485.

With all this retrogression its really confusing and frustating to understand...
I appreciate your help.

Thanks,
Harish.

pmat
09-21-2006, 05:09 PM
Depends on EB2 or Eb3 and country of birth. For Indians, it is a long-long wait unless a relief bill passes.

HarishM
09-21-2006, 05:21 PM
Since I did my master's here. I think they filed my case under EB1...I need to re-check. If this is the case then how long does it take. Yes I'm an indian.

nomi
09-21-2006, 05:24 PM
If you have master degree and you are from india then there is long long wait time.

fromnaija
09-21-2006, 05:26 PM
Since I did my master's here. I think they filed my case under EB1...I need to re-check. If this is the case then how long does it take. Yes I'm an indian.

I doubt if a Masters qualifies for EB1. But if you filed under EB1, then you should be able to file I485 immediately as that category is CURRENT. Check and confirm the category your employers filed and post your question again.

ghost
09-21-2006, 05:27 PM

EB1, EB2 and EB3 depend NOT on your personal qualifications but on the job requirements, which are:

EB3 - BS or BS+<5 yrs
EB2 - BS+>5 yrs or MS
EB1 - PhD

Find out from your employer or from the job ad that you've been hired for. Good Luck!

masala dosa
09-21-2006, 05:27 PM
I doubt if a Masters qualify for EB1. But if you filed under EB1, then you should be able to file I485 immediately as that category is CURRENT. Check and confirm the category your employers filed and post your question again.