PDA

View Full Version : Can I join School while on H1B and GC pending

Robert Kumar
01-02-2011, 01:25 PM
Hi,

Here is a question.
Can somebody join an MBA program full time at one's own expense, while on H1B and with 485 pending.
I can see more scope in my company if I have an MBA. Also company is not doing very well.
So, can I join a school till I get my MBA.
How does this reflect on my H1B and pending GC, if company is not paying my salary. I plan to take leave and come back again after the program, but be on payroll.

Thank You,
Bobby.

vinzak
01-02-2011, 02:07 PM
You will need to switch to an F1 (Student Visa). You cannot enroll for a full time MBA course on an H1. The college you enroll in will insist on an F1.

As for the GC application, it is for future employment. Meaning that if you company is willing to hire you back once you get your GC and they don't withdraw the I-140, then the application can continue.

However, I think that if and when yr GC gets approved, you will mostly likely have to abandon full time studies and go back to working full time for yr company right away. I only think this and I'm not sure.

PHANI_TAVVALA
01-02-2011, 03:55 PM
Adding to what Vinzak mentioned above, you will have hard time converting to F-1 since your I-140 is filed/approved. F-1 requires non-immigrant intent and filing I-140 shows immigration intent. There is a high chance your H1B to F1 COS wiil not be approved by USCIS.

Desertfox
01-02-2011, 05:12 PM
School has no interest in insisting on a specific immigration status when you meet the admission requirements and pay your tuition. With I-485 receipt most colleges will accept you as a resident student without any issues.

However, I think you have to let the H1 status go when you leave your current position, and that should not matter as you have the option to get EAD for any future work.