PDA

View Full Version : EAD Renewel - Apply 6 months before??

ash0210
11-21-2006, 05:34 PM
I am wondering why USCIS having so much of tighter control on "Legal" immigrants!!

I browsed thru following new USCIS web site, selected option - Employment Authorization & noticed that NEW rule to "Renew EAD" is 6 months...

Is it good for us to apply 1 year EAD six months in advance?

Checkfollowing EAD with option - Employment Authorization:

http://www.uscis.gov/portal/site/uscis/

485Mbe4001
11-21-2006, 05:39 PM
This is not a new rule, i have been renewing 6months in advance for the last three years. 4-6 photos each time, without glasses and a straight face. the first year my mug shot had a smile, the second a blank look, third was probably a smirk...may more expressions to come till i get the GC approval :D

better keep the EAD current than risk being out of status

alterego
11-21-2006, 06:22 PM
This is not a new rule, i have been renewing 6months in advance for the last three years. 4-6 photos each time, without glasses and a straight face. the first year my mug shot had a smile, the second a blank look, third was probably a smirk...may more expressions to come till i get the GC approval :D

better keep the EAD current than risk being out of status

Not having the EAD does not make you out of status. You can't work however. Minor detail but thought I would point it out.
6 months may be a little overkill. Somewhere between 100-120 days ahead should be OK. I have done it twice without issue. Doing it too soon, makes your time much less than one year. Already it is about 9 months per renewal mostly.
Can't figure out why they won't let us have 3 yr EADs, even if they charge 3 times the rate. With the current multi year retrogression, it seems like common sense. But it is the USCIS we are talking about! Oops I answered my own question.

ash0210
11-21-2006, 08:11 PM