PDA

View Full Version : Employer change - keeping priority date

pa_arora
11-22-2006, 12:58 PM
Frendz,

I am in third year of h1 and have my 140 approved with PD Dec 2005.

If I change my employer, can I keep my priority date? I know i have to start over again but I think its wise to do so if i can keep my priority date.

Thanks
-p

pa_arora
11-22-2006, 03:31 PM
Thanks nelsonagn,

I need one more clarification in the regard. At what point will I be able to keep my PD. Lets say I have filed the new labor (from the new employer) and the old employer revokes 140. Will I be able to keep the old PD in such a case?

Thanks
-P

devimm01
11-23-2006, 08:19 PM
I am working with company X through I got I-140 with priority date Dec-2003 for EB3 category.

I applied LC and I-140 through new company for the future employment.If I want to port the priority date of my current company X to future company.

Is I-140 of my current company still valid if uanable to port PD to I140?.

pa_arora
11-25-2006, 09:55 PM
uh..la ..la..
ask a lawyer my friend.

gcpool
11-26-2006, 07:14 AM
I have heard that the priority date can be retained even if the I-140 is revoked by the employer. Maybe its not possible if a fraud is detected.

qualified_trash
11-26-2006, 10:28 AM
I have heard that the priority date can be retained even if the I-140 is revoked by the employer. Maybe its not possible if a fraud is detected.
that would be correct.........

DareYouFireMe
11-26-2006, 11:19 PM

I guess you can't use PD if I-140 is cancelled by past employer. However, employer's H1B/GC programme may be adversely affected if you would complain with authorities if their is case of harrasment. (READ thread "Enough is Enough" for excepts from USCIS document)

WillIBLucky
11-27-2006, 09:50 AM