PDA

View Full Version : Changing job role within company. Hoping to switch to EB2

joezz
12-12-2011, 02:43 AM
When I joined my current company, I didn't have my Master's degree. So the company was planning to file me under EB3(not filed yet). Now I have my Master's degree and I'll switch to a new role within the company, hoping to restart my GC progress and get filed under EB2 instead. The company has a policy that, in order to restart the PERM process, the new role must be more than 50% different from the old one. And my concern is whether my role change would qualify 50%+ role change.

The attorney sent me a worksheet to let me specify: 1. duties & percentage of time for both roles 2. whether the new role is a newly created position? If no, was the position previously filled?

My questions regarding the worksheet:
1. My old role is "Software Engineer", where I write programs to implement website features facing website end users. My new role is "Platform Engineer", where I write programs to maintain the website's internal infrastructure. Both position involves programming, but since they're for completely different purposes, would they be considered different?

2. How is 50%+ difference calculated? If the old role is 80% programming plus 20% talking to PMs, and the new role is 40% programming plus 60% maintaining databases, what's the percentage of difference? Is it 60%(since they have at most 40% similarities, in programming)?

3. For the worksheet question "whether the new role is a newly created position? If no, was the position previously filled?", what impact would each answer have on my case?

Thanks!

pd2010india
12-12-2011, 01:38 PM
Please treat below as a suggestion and not a legal advice. Just telling what has worked in similar cases.

The job duties should not overlap more than 50%.
For ex if you worked on A, B, C,D each 25% on old position