PDA

View Full Version : EB2 for level 2 job or EB 3 , please suggest ?

jb1985
02-20-2013, 12:45 AM
Profile: Education: BE in EE from India and M. S in EE from US univer .I have 2-3 yrs of experience before my current job. I have been working as a software engineer with my current employer for 3 years now with 65k p. a . in CA riverside . My employer is filing EB3 Green-card application so here is my questions-
1. Can I file under EB2 category?
2. I asked my attorney and they told me that the PWD for EB2 for my profile comes to $87 k which is very much higher than my current salary. This 87$k is an level 3 zone and as per my attorney only level 3 and level 4 are eligible for EB2 approval. I can still push my employer to increase my salary to level 2 which is 74 k . So applying with level 2 will be fine for applying for EB2 application? OR what about level 1 wage which $61 K is that safe ?
3. I heard that Current wage/prevailing wage check is done at I-140 stage and that too is not an issue if the company has ability to pay. So how much time it will take to reach I-140 if applied this month.
4. At all odds , what should I do in this condition , should I wait for my favorable EB2 condition or go ahead with EB3 ?

Thanks
JB

dipdowndust
02-20-2013, 02:07 AM
1. You can file under EB2 if your job requires MS+2 yrs or BE+5 yrs.
2. In my opinion you should try to get promotion to get to higher level and apply in EB2 OR Change job if you can.
3. I think prevailing wage and job requirements checks are done during Labor cert stage which is stage 1.
4. In my opinion, filing in EB3 will take really long time to get a GC. There are people waiting for 10+ yrs filed in EB3. My PD is in 2005 and at current speed of EB3 movement, I will get it in next 15 yrs. So, calculate how much time you will take :-)

Basically, you need to file in EB2 if you wish to get a GC in foreseeable time.