PDA

View Full Version : Can I Remain In the US

ernurse
03-16-2007, 01:21 PM
As a nurse, I was affected by the visa retrogression. I have an approved I-140, my priority date is Jan/2007. I am currently on OPT.
Can I remain in the US while waiting for my visa to become available.
Any suggestion?
Thanks.

nozerd
03-16-2007, 01:32 PM
You can if you have independent status. Like you could go back to school on F1 for an advanced degree or if your spouse is on H1 you could stay on as H4 etc.

chanduv23
03-16-2007, 01:53 PM
Everyone is missing a point here. His/her issue is that a h1b has to be applied in this year's quota and he/she is on OPT now which may run upto may or so and then there may be a 3 to 4 month in between geting the h1b approved and OPT ending and also looks like his/her spouse is not on h1b.

As someone suggested you can maintain f1 status, the best thing is to spend some money and join Kaplan coaching, Kaplan offers various courses that run for various months and your status can be changed to F1.

There maybe other options also, consult a lawyer.

ingegarcia
03-16-2007, 04:11 PM
.. YES as long as you are illegal and speak Spanish.

Your comment seems to be discriminatory against the Spanish Speaking Community. :(

pmat
03-16-2007, 04:18 PM
.. YES as long as you are illegal and speak Spanish.

GCard_Dream,

Please don't use derogatory comments on the forum. We have many Spanish speaking members who may get hurt.

Thanks,
pmat

ernurse
03-16-2007, 05:06 PM
Eventhough Schedule A retrogressed it still exists. It is the best way for nurses because nurses are not required to have a BS degree .
I-140 was approved by premium processing and now needs to wait PD become current.
Why dont you file for H1B visa and stay?
Thanks for your reply.