PDA

View Full Version : Help Needed: Leaving for Good While I-485 is Pending

Hassan11
01-07-2010, 01:27 PM
Hi All:

I have decided after many years of waiting for my pending I-485 to be approved to return back home for good. I am ROW EB3 with a priority date of May 2005. Last time I checked, my application is pre adjudicated and name check and everything else is completed and just waiting on PD to be current to be approved. However, with the current retrogression and no end in sight, I am throwing the towel and decided to return home. I have been working on EAD for 2 years now and I travel using AP. I didnít transfer my H-1B visa from my old job to my current employer.

my first question is : in case I go home and I live there for few years and I decide to come back here, can I transfer my old H-1B visa to any new employer in case I find a job with a new company in the future? Or I have to apply for a new H-1B visa to be able to come back.

My second question: what other things I need to take care before I leave from here? Do I need to notify Social Security Admin? etc.... I want to make sure that I have everything take care of before I leave, in case I decide to come back to work in the US in the future.

Thank you in advance for your advice

nousername
01-07-2010, 01:47 PM
I feel your pain and give you kudos to have finally made that difficult call. I am sure just like you (and me) there are many others who have been thinking about the same but fail to move forward. Good luck for future.

Answers to your questions:

1. I "think" if you stay out of the country for 1yr. you will get a new H1. Gurus can confirm that.
2. I don;t think you need to tell anything to SSA. If you have paid SS for more than 10 yrs then you might be eligible for a pay back after you hit a certain age. In short you don't owe them anything.

On a side note you might want to consider consulate processing for your GC, just a thought..

Hi All: