Immigration Voice - Forums
Register Get Involved Contact Lawmakers Advocacy Discussion Image Image Image Image

Go Back   Immigration Voice > General Information > Starting and Doing Business in USA
Click to log in with Facebook

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-01-2011, 08:54 PM
Priority Date
:
Dec-05
Category
:
EB2
I140 Mailed Date
:
12/09/2005
Chargeability
:
India
Processing Stage
:
I-485
I485 Mailed Date
:
08/15/2007
Compare
gcdreamer05 is a splendid one to behold gcdreamer05 is a splendid one to behold gcdreamer05 is a splendid one to behold gcdreamer05 is a splendid one to behold gcdreamer05 is a splendid one to behold gcdreamer05 is a splendid one to behold gcdreamer05 is a splendid one to behold gcdreamer05 is a splendid one to behold
Default Individual consulting - self employment options

Hi Folks,

I recently got my green card and am trying to collect some information about self-employment. I am a software consultant & have been working for a middle man for 8 yrs now mainly doing consulting work via corp-2-corp. Now i want to become independent and cut inbetween layers and try to work either directly for a end client or for the middle men.

I was thinking about working on 1099 & create a company where I am the only person working.

Can you please share the pro's and cons of this. How does the employer tax part of it work?

If i work for a company, since I have a green card, if there is down time during consulting I can claim unemployment benefit, but If i start my own company and do consulting through that, then there is no concept of unemployment - am i right?

Please share your experiences.

And where to start to find out how to start my own company.

Any links or book recommendations, please suggest.

Thanks
Dreamer.

Old 08-02-2011, 04:02 PM
Priority Date
:
Sep-06
Category
:
EB2
I140 Mailed Date
:
Chargeability
:
Processing Stage
:
I-485
I485 Mailed Date
:
Compare
baabuu is on a distinguished road