Immigration Voice - Forums
Register Get Involved Contact Lawmakers Advocacy Discussion Image Image Image Image

Go Back   Immigration Voice > I-485, EAD/AP application, renewal and related > Travel out of country and re-entry during/after 485 filing
Click to log in with Facebook
Travel out of country and re-entry during/after 485 filing Travel out of country and re-entry after 485 filing. Various options of travelling and issues that need to be taken care of while filing and after filing 485.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-08-2007, 04:34 AM
Priority Date
:
Feb-06
Category
:
EB2
I140 Mailed Date
:
Chargeability
:
India
Processing Stage
:
I-485
I485 Mailed Date
:
Compare
droneboyz is on a distinguished road
Exclamation Travel without AP, and going for H1 visa interview

Hi everyone here, I am a newbie, here's my situation. I know situations like this have been discussed here, but i did not find one thats exactly similar: (thanks for reading my long rant)

1. My H1 visa has expired on 15th Sep 2007. I have a I-797 approval notice for H1 till Sep 2010.
2. My I-120 has been approved. Applied for I-485 on Aug. 7. 2007, and received the approval notice too. Did not apply for EAD and AP yet - my (stupid) attorney told me it was not necessary. I did not do due diligence, and did not know that it can have an effect on H1 stamping. However I plan to do that Monday, 6Oct07.
3. I have to go to India on Business, in the 2nd week of October, and have procured an appointment date at the Mumbai Consulate for the 22nd.

In light of the above situations, I have been advised that I should NOT travel outside the country, until I receive my Advanced Parole. The reason being that, even though the H1 is a dual-intent visa, I can be refused a visa if I say that 'Someone has filed an immigrant petition of my behalf'. I am aware that I should carry my I-485 receipt with me in any case.

So here's my questions: