Immigration Voice - Forums
Register Get Involved Contact Lawmakers Advocacy Discussion Image Image Image Image

Go Back   Immigration Voice > Non Immigrant Visas : H1, L1, H4, L2, F1 etc > Out of status, employment gap and status revalidation
Click to log in with Facebook
Out of status, employment gap and status revalidation Gap in employment(paystubs) and the resulting problems during status transfer and green card filing.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-20-2008, 05:02 PM
Priority Date
:
N/A
Category
:
N/A
I140 Mailed Date
:
Chargeability
:
Thailand
Processing Stage
:
N/A
I485 Mailed Date
:
Compare
Boonsi is on a distinguished road
Default L1 or I-485/EAD? please advice.

I would be thankful for all the suggestions that I can get from anyone.

Here goes my situation...

I started working in the industry after I graduated with a PhD from a US university in Nov. 2007 and just found out recently that my H1-B application was not selected in the random process (conducted in April). Here are the two options that I have in mind:

First: Relocate to the company's other facility in another country for one year then reenter the US with L-1 visa.

Second: Submitting I-485 through my wife (who is also a foreign national working for another US company, but has already sumitted her GC application, and is waiting to get her I-485 approved). It is my understanding that because the priority date of my country is now current, I can then submit I-485 (hence, applying for an EAD card) which would eventually allow me to remain in the US before my OPT expires (4 months from now). But, my concerns with this option are:
(i) Would submitting my applcation along with her application potentially cause her I-485 approval to be any slower than what it would have been?
(ii) If my wife loses her job (her company is a start-up) after I get my EAD approved, would that also void the validity of my EAD?

Any suggestion would be appreciated.
Bookmark and Share Compare Reply With Quote