Immigration Voice - Forums
Register Get Involved Contact Lawmakers Advocacy Discussion Image Image Image Image

Go Back   Immigration Voice > Non Immigrant Visas : H1, L1, H4, L2, F1 etc > Out of status, employment gap and status revalidation
Click to log in with Facebook
Out of status, employment gap and status revalidation Gap in employment(paystubs) and the resulting problems during status transfer and green card filing.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2009, 01:11 AM
Member
Priority Date
:
Apr-04
Category
:
EB3
I140 Mailed Date
:
Chargeability
:
India
Processing Stage
:
I-485
I485 Mailed Date
:
Compare
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 52
smarth is on a distinguished road
Default Going to India for H1B stamping-Do Ineed 2 travel my direct flight from US to India?

Hello,
recently i got my H1B extension. Going to India for visa stamping in my passport.
Can you please tell me if I book tickets suppose Lufthansa which halts @ Frankfurt, will I be getting any problems because I am not having visa stamping? Do I need transit visa?

Do I need to book direct flight to India?

Thanks
Bookmark and Share Compare Reply With Quote


  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2009, 01:28 PM
Senior Member
Priority Date
:
Feb-08
Category
:
EB2
I140 Mailed Date
:
05/13/2008
Chargeability
:
India
Processing Stage
:
I-140
I485 Mailed Date
:
Compare
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 216
newbie2020 has a brilliant future newbie2020 has a brilliant future newbie2020 has a brilliant future newbie2020 has a brilliant future newbie2020 has a brilliant future newbie2020 has a brilliant future newbie2020 has a brilliant future newbie2020 has a brilliant future newbie2020 has a brilliant future newbie2020 has a brilliant future newbie2020 has a brilliant future
Default

Guess what you should only travel by First class, If you travel by economy they will catch you..... )

Jokes aside, You should be ok your H1B extension/stamping has nothing to do with which Airlines you travel, How many stops you will make etc.. Some countries have restrictions if you don't have valid visa during transit. Check with Airlines.
__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
PD EB2 Feb 2008
Labor Approved
I-140 Approved
I-485 : Yet to file
Waiting Priceless
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Bookmark and Share Compare Reply With Quote


  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2009, 02:01 PM
Junior Member
Priority Date
:
Apr-08
Category
:
EB2
I140 Mailed Date
:
10/10/2008
Chargeability
:
India
Processing Stage
:
Labor Certification
I485 Mailed Date
:
Compare
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 20
aruny5 has a spectacular aura about aruny5 has a spectacular aura about
Default

My wife was on H4 earlier and then she coverted her visa into F1 (student). She got I 20 form from school with her, But She doesn't have F1 stamp on her Indian Passport. She got 2 hour halt in Paris.
Does she need French transit visa ??
Bookmark and Share Compare Reply With Quote


  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2009, 02:31 PM
Senior Member
Priority Date
:
Mar-05
Category
:
EB2
I140 Mailed Date
:
02/01/2006
Chargeability
:
India
Processing Stage
:
I-485
I485 Mailed Date
:
07/20/2007
Compare
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 562
vin13 has a reputation beyond repute vin13 has a reputation beyond repute vin13 has a reputation beyond repute vin13 has a reputation beyond repute vin13 has a reputation beyond repute vin13 has a reputation beyond repute vin13 has a reputation beyond repute vin13 has a reputation beyond repute vin13 has a reputation beyond repute vin13 has a reputation beyond repute vin13 has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aruny5 View Post
My wife was on H4 earlier and then she coverted her visa into F1 (student). She got I 20 form from school with her, But She doesn't have F1 stamp on her Indian Passport. She got 2 hour halt in Paris.
Does she need French transit visa ??
I have travelled on Lufthanza several times with stopover at Frankfort. My parents who have a visitor visa to US travelled on Air France with stopover at Paris. In both cases, there was no need for any transit visa. As a general rule, you need a visa only if you are leaving the airport at the stopover Hub.
__________________
Used AC21 twice
Greened on 07/20/10
Bookmark and Share Compare Reply With Quote


  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2009, 03:05 PM
Administrator
Priority Date
:
Mar-06
Category
:
EB3
I140 Mailed Date
:
05/06/2006
Chargeability
:
India
Processing Stage
:
I-485
I485 Mailed Date
:
06/29/2007
Compare
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6,423
Blog Entries: 6
pappu has a reputation beyond repute pappu has a reputation beyond repute pappu has a reputation beyond repute pappu has a reputation beyond repute pappu has a reputation beyond repute pappu has a reputation beyond repute pappu has a reputation beyond repute pappu has a reputation beyond repute pappu has a reputation beyond repute pappu has a reputation beyond repute pappu has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Please check the following threads-- http://immigrationvoice.org/forum/fo...ia-travel.html (H1 & H4 stamping - India Travel)

http://immigrationvoice.org/forum/fo...nsit-visa.html (AIR INDIA and Direct Airside Transit Visa)

Please also help everyone by adding useful information on this wiki page ---

http://immigrationvoice.org/wiki/ind...ther_countries
__________________
Yes. I want to Contribute NOW| .. and also want to Join IV's State Chapters

Facebook | YouTube | Twitter | Mailing List

===================
I do not give legal advice. You can pay and get it from Lawyers. Just show me some love and click the links above to help ImmigrationVoice any way you choose.
-----------
Bookmark and Share Compare Reply With Quote


  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2009, 03:25 PM
Junior Member
Priority Date
:
Apr-08
Category
:
EB2
I140 Mailed Date
:
10/10/2008
Chargeability
:
India
Processing Stage
:
Labor Certification
I485 Mailed Date
:
Compare
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 20
aruny5 has a spectacular aura about aruny5 has a spectacular aura about
Default

Thanks all who replied to my thread. I am contacting Air France regarding this transit crap. I will post my experience on this forum, when I get answer from Airline.

One thing is for sure, I will never again travel by Air france, BA and Lufthansa.
Bookmark and Share Compare Reply With Quote


  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2009, 03:32 PM
Senior Member/Moderator
Priority Date
:
Jul-07
Category
:
EB2
I140 Mailed Date
:
10/15/2007
Chargeability
:
India
Processing Stage
:
I-485
I485 Mailed Date
:
11/01/2011
Compare
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,512
TeddyKoochu has a reputation beyond repute TeddyKoochu has a reputation beyond repute TeddyKoochu has a reputation beyond repute TeddyKoochu has a reputation beyond repute TeddyKoochu has a reputation beyond repute TeddyKoochu has a reputation beyond repute TeddyKoochu has a reputation beyond repute TeddyKoochu has a reputation beyond repute TeddyKoochu has a reputation beyond repute TeddyKoochu has a reputation beyond repute TeddyKoochu has a reputation beyond repute
Default Contact the Consulate

Quote:
Originally Posted by aruny5 View Post
Thanks all who replied to my thread. I am contacting Air France regarding this transit crap. I will post my experience on this forum, when I get answer from Airline.

One thing is for sure, I will never again travel by Air france, BA and Lufthansa.
Dear friend I would recommend you to contact the consulate by email, because all rules are always subject to change, that way you can be sure!
Bookmark and Share Compare Reply With Quote


  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2009, 04:35 PM
Senior Member
Priority Date
:
Mar-05
Category
:
EB2
I140 Mailed Date
:
02/01/2006
Chargeability
:
India
Processing Stage
:
I-485
I485 Mailed Date
:
07/20/2007
Compare
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 562
vin13 has a reputation beyond repute vin13 has a reputation beyond repute vin13 has a reputation beyond repute vin13 has a reputation beyond repute vin13 has a reputation beyond repute vin13 has a reputation beyond repute vin13 has a reputation beyond repute vin13 has a reputation beyond repute vin13 has a reputation beyond repute vin13 has a reputation beyond repute vin13 has a reputation beyond repute
Default What is the real issue?

Quote:
Originally Posted by aruny5 View Post
Thanks all who replied to my thread. I am contacting Air France regarding this transit crap. I will post my experience on this forum, when I get answer from Airline.

One thing is for sure, I will never again travel by Air france, BA and Lufthansa.
I do not see why anyone should not travel on Air France or Lufthansa. You are not changing airports at Paris or Frankfort. So there is no requirement for a visa. It seems to be a simple one.
__________________
Used AC21 twice
Greened on 07/20/10
Bookmark and Share Compare Reply With Quote


  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2009, 05:21 PM
Senior Member
Priority Date
:
Nov-07
Category
:
EB3
I140 Mailed Date
:
Chargeability
:
India
Processing Stage
:
I-140
I485 Mailed Date
:
Compare
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 202
sidbee is a splendid one to behold sidbee is a splendid one to behold sidbee is a splendid one to behold sidbee is a splendid one to behold sidbee is a splendid one to behold sidbee is a splendid one to behold sidbee is a splendid one to behold
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vin13 View Post
I have travelled on Lufthanza several times with stopover at Frankfort. My parents who have a visitor visa to US travelled on Air France with stopover at Paris. In both cases, there was no need for any transit visa. As a general rule, you need a visa only if you are leaving the airport at the stopover Hub.
This is totally wrong information.

If you are not sure , please don't post with confidence. The OP would have been screwed if he had used Air France.

If you don't have a valid US Visa stamped in the passport (IE working in the US on AP, Approved 797), you cant transit via UK,FRANCE, without a transit visa.
Bookmark and Share Compare Reply With Quote


  #10 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2009, 05:25 PM
Senior Member
Priority Date
:
Nov-07
Category
:
EB3
I140 Mailed Date
:
Chargeability
:
India
Processing Stage
:
I-140
I485 Mailed Date
:
Compare
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 202
sidbee is a splendid one to behold sidbee is a splendid one to behold sidbee is a splendid one to behold sidbee is a splendid one to behold sidbee is a splendid one to behold sidbee is a splendid one to behold sidbee is a splendid one to behold
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vin13 View Post
I do not see why anyone should not travel on Air France or Lufthansa. You are not changing airports at Paris or Frankfort. So there is no requirement for a visa. It seems to be a simple one.

What you think , doesn't matter.
Cant fly through FRANCE/UK for sure, without a valid US visa stamped.

People had issues even with Lufthansa, but as per law on the German Consulate , a person should be able to transit through Germany. But i would avoid it.

Emirates/Direct AI/Continental should be OK from East Coast.
Bookmark and Share Compare Reply With Quote


  #11 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2009, 06:05 PM
Junior Member
Priority Date
:
Apr-08
Category
:
EB2
I140 Mailed Date
:
10/10/2008
Chargeability
:
India
Processing Stage
:
Labor Certification
I485 Mailed Date
:
Compare
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 20
aruny5 has a spectacular aura about aruny5 has a spectacular aura about
Default

My wife called Air France and France's Atlanta consulate. She will be requiring Airport Transit Visa B.

She will have to mail her original and one copy of passport and I 20 form with $ 86 Visa fee for Airport Transit Visa and an Express mail self address envelope.

Also Air France is going charge $ 50 each for extra bag after first (I received a mail about baggage fee after booking my ticket).

I will never again travel with Air France, British Airway and Lufthance even after geting GC. Today these three airlines lost a customer for life.

These three airlines don't need desi's business.
Bookmark and Share Compare Reply With Quote


1 out of 1 members found this post helpful.
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2009, 06:18 PM
Senior Member
Priority Date
:
Nov-07
Category
:
EB3
I140 Mailed Date
:
Chargeability
:
India
Processing Stage
:
I-140
I485 Mailed Date
:
Compare
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 202
sidbee is a splendid one to behold sidbee is a splendid one to behold sidbee is a splendid one to behold sidbee is a splendid one to behold sidbee is a splendid one to behold sidbee is a splendid one to behold sidbee is a splendid one to behold
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aruny5 View Post
My wife called Air France and France's Atlanta consulate. She will be requiring Airport Transit Visa B.

She will have to mail her original and one copy of passport and I 20 form with $ 86 Visa fee for Airport Transit Visa and an Express mail self address envelope.

Also Air France is going charge $ 50 each for extra bag after first (I received a mail about baggage fee after booking my ticket).

I will never again travel with Air France, British Airway and Lufthance even after geting GC. Today these three airlines lost a customer for life.

These three airlines don't need desi's business.
if u booked just today online , u may be able to get a refund without any penalty..some airlines do that , i am not sure about airfrance.
Bookmark and Share Compare Reply With Quote


  #13 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2009, 06:48 PM
Senior Member
Priority Date
:
Mar-05
Category
:
EB2
I140 Mailed Date
:
02/01/2006
Chargeability
:
India
Processing Stage
:
I-485
I485 Mailed Date
:
07/20/2007
Compare
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 562
vin13 has a reputation beyond repute vin13 has a reputation beyond repute vin13 has a reputation beyond repute vin13 has a reputation beyond repute vin13 has a reputation beyond repute vin13 has a reputation beyond repute vin13 has a reputation beyond repute vin13 has a reputation beyond repute vin13 has a reputation beyond repute vin13 has a reputation beyond repute vin13 has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sidbee View Post
What you think , doesn't matter.
Cant fly through FRANCE/UK for sure, without a valid US visa stamped.

People had issues even with Lufthansa, but as per law on the German Consulate , a person should be able to transit through Germany. But i would avoid it.

Emirates/Direct AI/Continental should be OK from East Coast.
Alright. I did not realize that this was a case of no valid visa on passport. I cannot attest to that.
__________________
Used AC21 twice
Greened on 07/20/10
Bookmark and Share Compare Reply With Quote


Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Expired stamping. Is stamping at Mexico good option than in India? belmontboy Non-Immigrant Visa 2 01-08-2014 11:26 PM
AC 21 Portability and New Employer like Infosys India, Wipro India, IBM India krupa Interesting Topics 5 06-28-2009 01:35 PM
H1 & H4 stamping - India Travel fall2004us Non-Immigrant Visa 1 04-30-2009 01:04 PM
AIR INDIA and Direct Airside Transit Visa gc_on_demand Non-Immigrant Visas 7 12-15-2008 04:26 PM
H-1B Stamping and travel to India from Canada tinkugadu Out of status, employment gap and status revalidation 0 09-19-2007 09:18 PM



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c)ImmigrationVoice.org