Immigration Voice - Forums
Register Get Involved Contact Lawmakers Advocacy Discussion Image Image Image Image

Go Back   Immigration Voice > General Information > Tax, Social Security and Financial Issues for Immigrants and Nonimmigrants
Click to log in with Facebook

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-20-2014, 11:48 AM
Priority Date
:
Category
:
N/A
I140 Mailed Date
:
Chargeability
:
Processing Stage
:
I485 Mailed Date
:
Compare
kiani_1 is on a distinguished road
Default I-485 pending - did NOT pay Social Security/Medicare TAX for 5 years!!

Hey guys,

I just realized that, NO Social Security/Medicare tax has been deducting from my paycheck, over the past 5 years!! - because in HR payroll my status is still F-1.

- I was an F-1 intern at my company before joining full-time. I've been working full-time on H1-B since 5 years.
- PD is current and awaiting I-485 adjudication (over 6 months)
- Already have EAD/AP card
- Current status: AP (travelling and re-entered on AP)

I'm not familiar with tax stuff at all, I've just been filing 1040EZ online (Turbotax, using company W-2).
I read some unrelated discussion about SS/Medicare tax, and realized that my W-2 boxes 3,4,5,6 were always blank.
I looked online and realized that for H1-B, SS/Medicare should be deducting from paycheck.
I emailed HR, asking why. They replied that in payroll system, my status wasn't updated from F-1

Guys, please answer some questions for me:

1. Anyone faced the same situation? What happened?
2. Will it affect my I-485?? Should I be worried?
3. What should I do? How bad is it?
4. Will I have to pay 5 years of tax!!!

Would really appreciate any guidance. Thanks guys!!
Bookmark and Share Compare Reply With Quote

Old 06-20-2014, 12:55 PM
Banned
Priority Date
:
Dec-07
Category
:
EB3
I140 Mailed Date
:
Chargeability
:
India
Processing Stage
:
I-140
I485 Mailed Date
:
Compare